Experiments

Busy holiday seasons don’t go along with creative studio time and it was sort of blessing for me as I have been feeling a bit “trapped” in watercolor lately.

It does happen when the perfectionist in me acts up: suddenly everything I do is not good enough and colors turn into shades of grey…

A few months ago I have found out a great way to free myself from this impasse is to just create whatever catches my imagination at a the time with a new medium. I think the reason it works so well for me is that, since it is not my medium of choice, I actually make allowances for myself to make mistakes and take it easy 🙂

Today I chose to work with acrylics on a painting of Koi Carps. I have always been fascinated by these animals and I found them mystical and romantic.

I started with the background. Acrylics are a lot more transparent than we actually think! But they are also very quick to dry so one has to work quite quickly to give the sfumato effect you see here as a transition between blue and purple.

img_4873

After the background had dried, I worked in the fish color and added some sculpting gel to give the effect of impasto to the tails.

This is still a work in progress, but I really like how it’s progressing. I’d love to hear if any of you has any suggestions or comments on improvements.

fullsizerender-10


2 thoughts on “Experiments

Leave a Reply

